Synopsis and Team

a mobile-radiophonic-opera on future stories


Director, Composer: Klaus Janek (Italy)

Director, Composer: Milena Kipfmüller (Brazil / Germany)


Singer: Laila Shuala (France / Israel)

Clarinet: Nitai Levi (Israel)

Doublebass: Shira Harpaz (Israel)

Costumes: Fabienne Müller (Germany)

Technical Advisor: Jens Baudisch (Germany)


Producer: sounding situations / Naggar Interdisciplinary School of Arts and Society


Premiere: 05-29-2018 / Musrara Mix Festival / Jerusalem, Israel



MUSRAROPERA is a mobile-radiophonic-opera developed in a historically charged quarter of Jerusalem, laying between fancy shops, the Palestinian area of Damuskus Gate and the ultraorthodox Mea Shearim.

Musrara is a mirror of the city, Israel and the complexity of the Middle East, inhabited by people of divers cultural, religious and political backgrounds, keeping the explosive coexistence of the past in motion. In the post-truth time we strategically place this pre-truth opera as a fictive rehearsal and master training to transform the uncertain present – in all different environments and places that host this friendly and exhausting but playful game between music, sounds, words and the urban environment.


Jury Statement

"The locus of this work, Musrara has seen centuries of conflict and cooperation, discord and harmony, conflict and coexistence.  Through their deeply researched, participatory process, the creative team has crafted a sensitive and multilayered approach which takes on this palimpsest and reveals its multiple truths.  This is the power of artistic expression: to allow us to see beyond the rhetoric.  In this piece, there are no passive observers.  Everyone is implicated, everyone is part or the problem/solution.  We’re all in it together."

(Limor Tomer for the Jury Members of the 2018 edition of MusicTheatreNOW competition)


Musraropera © the artistMusraropera © the artistMusraropera © the artistMusraropera © the artist
Musraropera © the artist
Musraropera © the artist
Musraropera © the artist
Musraropera © the artist